ByteChek accounts have up to eight roles available for users: Administrator, Engineering, GRC Professional, IT Operations, Legal, People Team, Product and Security Professional.

In this article, you'll learn the differences among user levels and how to grant and remove account access.

ByteChek Roles

Persona/Role

Description

Administrator

The administrator serves as the primary contact for the account. Admins can perform all actions in the account including completing the self-assessment, integrating applications, inviting new users, starting and completing audits.

Engineering

Users assigned the engineering role will be granted access to the self-assessment questions and controls relevant to their role.

GRC Professional

Users assigned the GRC professional role will be granted access to the self-assessment questions and controls relevant to their role.

IT Operations

Users assigned the IT Operations role will be granted access to the self-assessment questions and controls relevant to their role.

Legal

Users assigned the Legal role will be granted access to the self-assessment questions and controls relevant to their role.

People Team

Users assigned the People team role will be granted access to the self-assessment questions and controls relevant to their role.

Product

Users assigned the Product role will be granted access to the self-assessment questions and controls relevant to their role.

Security Professional

Users assigned the Security professional role will be granted access to the self-assessment questions and controls relevant to their role.

Grant account access

The user management page displays the first name, last name, email and assigned roles of each user. From this page you can revoke access, add new users and change role permissions.

To grant access to a new user, follow these steps.

  1. Click the settings wheel in the upper left of the navigation bar

  2. Once on this page, click 'Get Started' under user management

  3. Click add new user in the upper left and input the email and name of the user. Then, add them to a group and click save.

New users receive an email invitation to join the ByteChek platform. Upon logging in, they will be asked to change the temporary password provided in the welcome email. To better protect accounts, all users are required to add two-factor authentication to their ByteChek accounts with Google Authenticator.

Deleting Users

  1. In the user management console, click the trash icon next to the user to remove their account.

Modifying User Roles, Names, and Email Addresses.

  1. In the user management console, click the pencil icon to edit user groups/assigned roles.

  2. Make necessary name, email and role changes. Note: A user can be assigned as many roles as necessary.

  3. Click the save icon to save your changes.

Did this answer your question?